AIA Ohio Valley Holds Annual Convention

The American Institute of Architects Ohio Valley Region recently held their annual convention at the Marriott in Louisville, Kentucky. Presented at the convention were the AIA Indiana Design Awards.

Indiana firms receiving awards for their Indiana designs include: Cripe Design, Hafer Associates, Moody Nolan, James T. Kienle Associates, Schmidt Associates, Brenner Design, CSO Architects and Rausch Studio.


Cripe Design, James T. Kiene Associates and Moody Nelson

Honor awards went to Cripe Design, Moody Nolan and James T. Kienle Associates for the renovation and addition to Elkhart’s Lerner Theatre, a former movie house and Vaudeville theater, and to Hafer Associates of Evansville, working with HOK of St. Louis, for the design of the Building & Engineering Center at the University of Southern Indiana in Evansville.


Schmidt Associates

The Indianapolis firm, Schmidt Associates, received a merit award for its renovation of a former federal building in Terre Haute to the Indiana State University Scott College of Business.

Schmidt Associates also received the 25 year award, for renovation work done in 1980, on the flatiron-style 1874 Hammond Block office building at 301 Massachusetts Ave. in Indianapolis. AIA Indiana presents the 25 year award to a firm whose work completed at least 25 years ago is still in use for its original purpose. This angular building, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is a landmark at the entry of one of the most commercial streets in the city and became a catalyst for revitalization in the neighborhood. The project earned Schmidt an AIA Indianapolis Merit Award in 1981.


Brenner Design and US Services

Brenner Design received a merit award for the interior design of the Minton-Capehart Federal Building in Indianapolis, working with US Services Inc. of Chicago and historic specialist James T. Kienle + Associates of Indianapolis.


CSO Architects and HOK of Chicago

CSO Architects of Indianapolis, working with HOK of Chicago, received a citation award for the design of the JW Marriott in downtown Indianapolis.


Rausch Studio

Rausch Studio of Zionsville received a citation award in new construction for the design of a private residence, The Scenic, in the Williams Creek area north of downtown Indianapolis.

More than 50 projects were submitted for the annual awards, which were judged by a panel of architects from Tennessee. AIA Indiana hosts the competition to showcase top designs, recognize building owners who value design and celebrate architects who are working to improve Indiana’s built environment.

Young Architect and Firm of the Year Award

The two major awards were given out the second night of the conference. AIA Indiana named MKM architecture + design of Fort Wayne as the Architecture Firm of the Year and Indianapolis architect Mark Beebe, AIA, Young Architect of the Year, as part of the annual service awards presented Friday at the AIA Ohio Valley Region Convention in Louisville.

They were among five awards presented as a way to recognize top designers and organizations that advocate the value of good design and architecture.

Other award winners were Ewing Miller II, FAIA, a former Terre Haute architect, received the Indiana Gold Medal Award, the highest honor AIA Indiana presents. The Columbus Area Visitors Center received the 2013 AIA Indiana Walter S. Blackburn Award, and Indiana Rep. Ed Clere, R-New Albany was named the Legislator of the Year.

Judges included Martha Tarrant, AIA Ohio Valley Region Director, Mahesh Daas, Chairman of the Ball State University School of Architecture and Planning and Vop Osili, an Architect and Indianapolis City-County Councilor.

The Award Winners


Ewing Miller II FAIA
(AIA Gold Medal Award)

Ewing Miller II, AIA, received the Indiana Gold Medal Award, the highest honor AIA Indiana bestows on an individual and is given to recognize accomplishments in promoting the aesthetic, scientific and practical excellence of architecture. Miller, 90, followed in his father’s and uncle’s footsteps working at Johnson, Miller & Miller, an architecture firm founded in 1910 in Brazil, Indiana. Miller, a former World War II pilot and Prisoner of War, was a leader in design of educational and religious facilities. He and his firm helped shape campuses at Indiana State, Wabash College and University of Evansville. Working with a psychologist and sociologists, they studied how people responded to buildings, work that earned Miller entrance into the prestigious College of Fellows.

MKM Architecture + Design of Fort Wayne - Architecture Firm of the Year

MKM Architecture + Design of Fort Wayne – Architecture Firm of the Year

MKM architecture + Design is an award-winning firm founded in 1981, which consistently has been recognized as one of the Top 100 Healthcare Architects by Modern Healthcare Magazine. It’s also known for sustainable and green design. MKM established an interactive research initiative that allows staff to explore new and innovative thinking. It’s not on the quality of work that impressed judges, but also MKM’s employees, who have played key roles in local, state and national AIA chapter. It’s been named one of the Best Places to Work by both the Indiana Business Journal and the Fort Wayne Business Journal.

Mark Beebe, AIA (Young Architect of the Year)

Mark Beebe, AIA
(Young Architect of the Year)

Mark Beebe, AIA, co-founder and owner of LANCER + BEEBE in Indianapolis, received the Young Architect Award. Beebe, the Vice President of AIA Indianapolis, began his architecture career in Colorado Springs, Colorado, working under Elizabeth Wright Ingraham, FAIA, the granddaughter of Frank Lloyd Wright. Beebe also worked in London, England, before moving to Indianapolis, where he’s worked at several firms before founding his company in 2012.

Rep. Ed Clere, R-New Albany received AIA Indiana’s first Legislator of the Year Award not only for supporting legislation for mass transit and to improve Indiana’s historic preservation tax credit, but for his willingness to meet with constituents both at home and at the Statehouse.  

Columbus Area Visitors Center (Walter S. Blackburn Award)

Columbus Area Visitors Center
(Walter S. Blackburn Award)

Columbus Area Visitors Center (CVAC) has helped put Columbus on the map as a “must-see” destination for Modernist-inspired architecture and land architecture. CVAC received the Walter S. Blackburn Award, named after longtime Indianapolis architect and civic leader Walter S. Blackburn. 

Industry Calendar

« February 2019 »
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28